#1974 08/02/03 03:48 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Hi Everyone,
Well I am in my third week of pumping and YIKES, my nipples are sore, I have been using olive oil, starting low on pump and working to medium,Using warm packs on them. I can look in the mirror and see the ends are red. Any more advice?

Also my supply has decreased from 1/2 to 1 oz to abut a 1/4 ounce and less. I started the herbs on thursday, have been eating oatmeal everyday for a week, drink lots of water. IS THAT NORMAL? I started the herbs on thursday so hope that helps. Any advice?
Thanks
Becky IM to twins due 10-15-03 via GS

#1975 08/03/03 03:28 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Hi,

Well, I am not an expert compared to some that may reply but I recently posted myself with the same problem you have. With the wise advice of the people on this website I found out I was doing two things wrong that resulted in sore nipples

1. my flanges or horns were too small for my nipples. I had the standard Medela 24cm and I ended up needing the 30cm. My nipples had been rubbing against the side of the horn (ouch) every time I pumped.

2. I was pumping on high for about 15 minutes. I've since backed off to 5 minutes on low and 10 on medium

With these two changes my soreness is almost gone in just three days!

Jeanne

#1976 08/03/03 02:56 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Jeanne, thank-you for your response. I will order new flanges. Did you loose milk quantity with the flanges? I am frustrated as it seems with the soreness my milk supply has decreased. Also when we nurse a baby does the supply go up easier? Thanks, Becky

#1977 08/04/03 02:24 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Becky,