Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
A
Angie Offline OP
OP Offline
A
hello everyone,
I am now on day 16 of the menopause protocol(hysterectomy 4 yrs ago),and feel I am doing well.This past 4 days,my breasts have become very sore(ouch!)and noticeably larger,probably I could stand to go up a cup size already but I'm going to wait as long as I can.My fatigue is still there,but I'm just learning to deal w/it.The hot flashes,etc that were so prevalent after going off my hrt have subsided(yea!!)so I'm feeling pretty good!It's such an encouragement when you're body starts telling you,and showing you,that your efforts are paying off.
My concern at this point is when I will be able to put Samuel to the breast again.If you all remember,I'm a "late"relactater!He is 13 months old,when I started this process,he was 11 months,I was just doing herbs,pumping--and letting him suck when he wanted.He was intere [color:"black"] [/color] sted,surprisingly,as we had only bottle fed since we brought him home at 3 months.I know I can't put him to the breast now,during this process--and although a good milk supply will be great--I'm not having to rely on that so much as nutrition for him since he's older.He doesn't have any teeth yet(good for me-right?!)but he eats well.My main intent was for the other benefits of breastfeeding between Samuel and myself.What if I go through this and then he doesn't want me at all?I had talked to a few LC's early in this,and none that I talked to were very familiar at all with adoptive nursing,let alone adoptive nursing an older baby!We practice attachment parenting with Sam,and he is very eager t please,so I feel that will work in our favor.
Please any insight would be appreciated!I know I still have a ways to go--but I want to be as prepared as possible along the way!!

Thanks and take care
Angie

A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
Angie,