photo of Lenore Goldfarb
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
K
karyn Offline OP
OP Offline
K
Hi, I'm also a newbie. I am 30 years old and Factor V Leiden positive. My hematologist also said that I have lupus anticoagulant and protein C deficiency. I had my first miscarriage in December 03, and my OBGYN just told me that I've lost my second at 7 1/2 weeks.

My last period was on 4/19, and I normally go about 30 days between cycles. The trans-vag ultrasounds only show a small sac, even though my blood levels are over 9000.

I've had conflicting info from two ultrasound techs. The one that saw me on Monday told me "you've lost it" after looking at me for only three minutes and w/o knowing my blood levels. The second tech I saw today said "I've seen stranger things that have led to normal pregancy."

My OBGYN suggests Mistoprostal (?spelling) to induce the miscarriage. She said that the ultrasound isn't normal for how far along I should be. I told her I wanted to wait a week for another ultrasound just to be sure that there is no baby there.

Am I deluding myself at this point? My husband wants me to start the Mistoprostal just to get things over with (he hates to see me going through this again). I haven't had any bleeding or spotting. The first miscarriage took care of itself rather quickly.

Also, I was on Lovenox therapy shortly after conception. Prior to that, I took Warfarin (the baby was a surprise...). Could the Warfarin have caused the baby not to develop right?

Finally, should I have additional blood tests done prior to trying again? I just want some answers...I would love to have a baby, but I don't want to go through this a third time. What are my odds of ever carrying a child to term???

Thanks for your help!
Karyn

Idaho
extra helpful experienced member
Idaho