photo of Lenore Goldfarb
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
B
OP Offline
B
Why so many posts about the pill, domperidone etc? I am wondering why those aren't in the medical intervention section...

Erin

Newbie here, I wanted to try to induce without medications and would like to hear from anyone who was successful. Our surrogate son is due on 28 Aug, do I have enough time to do this without domperidone? I have done nipple stimulation for a week with TENS machine, and just put the Avent duo pump together. All suggestions are welcome.

Colorado
M
experienced member
experienced member
M
Colorado
You always have enough time but without domperidone it is doubtful that you will get very much. I used domperidone and herbs and pumped for 7 months in preparation for our daughter's arrival(born via GS) and got 6 ounces a day on average. You can always try it and if you aren't getting much you can add domperidone.

For reference a breast-feed baby needs between 24-30 ounces a day, this doesn't increase as the baby ages like formula does.

Michele
Mommy to Danielle born 5/30/08 and Brady born 12/26/10
Idaho
extra helpful experienced member
extra helpful experienced member
Idaho
They don't need 24-30 ounces to start though. They do build to that.
Newbie, I did only herbs (More Milk Tincture) and no pumping ahead of time. I started my daughter off with a lact-aid filled with formula. In a couple weeks I was producing milk. Not much but there was some there. I then switched to dry herbs and I was taking Fenugreek, Blessed Thistle and alfalfa at about 6-7 months I added the dom. I was maybe producing 1/3 of her intake by this time.