photo of Lenore Goldfarb
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#19702 12/19/14 06:11 AM
T
OP Offline
T
I am trying to make a decision (I think I pretty much already made it). I would like to stop what I am doing right now and try the regular protocol. Here's my story in short:

I have followed the accelerated protocol for menopause women. I did the accelerated protocol because I found out about it very late in the process so that was all the time I could afford. I was on BCP/Dom combination for under 60 days then I started pumping. I have been pumping for almost two months and the most I've been able to produce was about 2 oz a day, I was basically producing only drops at each pumping and I pumped very diligently. I wasn't seeing much progress either. It was a tremendous amount of work to keep up with and in all honesty the amount of milk I was/am producing wouldn't be nearly enough to feed the babies that we are expecting in 1-2 weeks.

I know there is more to breastfeeding than milk but I am a very result oriented person and I do want to be able to provide sufficient nutrition for the little ones. Right now we are in India doing our surrogacy procedure but when I come back to US, as a business owner, it would be extremely hard for me to keep up with trying to maintain my (tiny) milk production and everything else that is going on. The result does not justify the effort.

BUT HERE'S THE IMPORTANT PART - I do not want to give up being able to breastfeed! I enjoyed so much being able to produce milk, I can see that my body can do it, I see the potential and I want to do it right and make a lot of milk!!!! I studied 'Ask Lenore' website very thoroughly, I read posts from many women going back years and years and I am amazed at the results women have achieved when on the Regular protocol.