photo of Lenore Goldfarb
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#8916 05/22/07 01:37 AM
M
OP Offline
M
Hi, everyone! I'm a newbie so I'll briefly introduce myself. We hope to adopt a newborn at the end of July/early August. So I'm getting a late start with inducing lactation. We have one biological son who I nursed for 3 1/2 years, weaning him a little over a year ago. I lactated for several more months - maybe into the fall?

I decided to try nursing our new baby and will probably start domperidone very soon - not sure if I have time for birth control pill to help or not. I may try fenugeek as well.

I did pull out my Ameda Purely Yours pump yesterday and was surprised to see drops of clearish-honey-colored-sticky milk. So I've pumped several times already today and may start pumping during the night as well.

My question is: is the Ameda Purely Yours "good enough" for what I need to do, or do I need a hospital grade pump? I researched and researched the issue and found that the Ameda Purely Yours will simultaneously double pump, rather than alternate, which supposedly is better. And it is considered "professional", along the lines of the Medela Pump'n'Style, I believe. FYI, I was never good at pumping before - my son never had a bottle at all. It took me forever to get two ounces, which is the most I ever collected in one pumping session that would last up to 30 minutes. Now I wonder if it was me or the pump...?

Anyone else successful with incuding lactation using an Ameda Purely Yours?

Thanks!

M
OP Offline
M
Just wanted to update: I rented an Ameda Lact-E today and feel much better about it than the Purely Yours (which I can still have in the car, etc.)...

Idaho
extra helpful experienced member
Idaho
Mariah if you can do the protocol I would. You will have much better success even doing the accelerated for 30 days than you will just pumping with herbs and dom.